Month: July 2010

  • Controlling a Solar Collector

    I've been trying to figure out how to control a solar collector so that its always facing directly toward the sun.

    There are so many things to consider: I need good pivots so that the whole array can rotate horizontally and vertically, and I need some small gear-drive motors to run the screws that will control the array. Then I need some sort of sensor to tell the whole shebang where the sun is, and some sort of computerized logic system to figure out how to send the info to the motors, and how to control the motors. Then I realized that a row of arrays will eventually block out their respective views toward the sun during both ends of the day. So I have to not only turn each collector, I have to turn the WHOLE ARRAY!

    Last evening my buddy Jacob came up with a brilliant solution. Just turn the whole building! Don't know WHY I didn't think of that before.

    But then we ran into a problem. My building is sandwiched in between two other buildings, one on each side. Ok, we'll just rotate the whole block to follow the sun. But then we got to thinking: the city probably won't like that, cuz it will really mess up traffic. Probably break some sort of zoning and planning laws too.

    It went from there to realizing that no matter how big you go, somebody is going to complain. So we just decided to stop the whole world, and keep Kansas focused on the sun.

    Oh, wait. I bet the Chinese won't like that. And since they hold so many T-bills, we better not make them mad.

    Besides, Kansas is hot enough already. I give up.